Pdx

Sometimes, when I come back to the city where we were in love, I miss the you, and I wish we were back there again.

I miss our first apartment and the way I learned to wait for you to get home from school. We’d launch into the lesson you’d just taken and I tried hard to learn everything. I miss our parties that took so much planning but no one ever ate at. I miss the submarine noises of winter and windows thrown open in the snow.

I miss biking along Ankney on my way to write while you made croissants. We drank so much coffee. I miss working two days a week and thriving like an airplant off the fumes of our love. I miss learning bass to you playing old Weezer songs that made me think of you in Chicago among friends who later wouldn’t be friends, but seemed like it then.

I miss so much, and yet I do not want those days back again.

I was depressed in a brutal way. Life was one long dark hard night. No end in sight. I became a bitter harbinger of doom, a house of unintentional abuse, a crazy unaware fool. It’s astounding I managed to pull through those tanniny oversteeped nights of fights and not-fights.

I was a feral heart caged in my own chest, clawing my own arms up to try and get out. Lucky for me the cage over Vista Viaduct didn’t exist as a ready reminder. If I hadn’t been able to perch on the edge of those stone benches and stare down into the cruel lights of oncoming trains and envision again and again what it’d be like if I jumped — I think the desperation would have swallowed my resolve whole. But the freedom to consider, up there all alone with nothing but the wind, rain, and occassional stranger pulling over to ask if I was alright gave me the space to find my heart. And find I wanted more from life.

I moved away and the dark between myself and you spread. But the gap between what I was and what I seemed to be narrowed significantly. So that by the new year in the east, we could see the end of our road together. But you could no longer see me.

Slow and careful the ending came. Now, we stay friends in a peripheral way. And still, some days, I wander off into the woods and wonder when hemlock will be the only friend left. But all in all, it’s better than it was. And I know what I want. And I have notions of how to get it, whether my long-term planning for the ultimate long con fail or not.

At least I’m not stuck.

Leave a Reply

