Cleverly played, VA

Fake shutters go on all the front windows. Side and back windows aren’t viewable from the road where the important people in their cars go by.
Except I can see all but one of your windows, and your half-foot wide plastic slats beside those double-wides aren’t fooling anyone.

It’s a good thing I realised that Virginia is officially open for business at all hours of day and night. Twenty-four. Oh yes. But nothing of value to buy, so…

Alternatively, one might say, “thus always to tyrants” – though I’m not exactly sure what we are getting at by that statement. Perhaps, a merger is in order.

Thus always to tyrants, open for business.
Appropriate, I’d say.

Among those fake shutters and long dead roads where everyone ends at the same corporate conclusion, there are vultures quick to lend a hand to your decaying body. Crows ready and waiting for the taking. Jays who disguise as beauties, there to tear your dead bits apart. A dead dog on the side of the road run over by our careless pass is gone within the night.

Nature, it seems, moves continually forward.
While we are figuring out how to beat ourselves into the outer vacuum where no life has existed, ever.

Do we, honestly, believe we will be the first?
How many dead planets hiding vast oil fields below their surface do you think there are?
How many have made our mistakes in the past?

Will we be the first? Will we be the last?

Another world is possible, but I’m beginning to think it orbits another star.

My star in this lantern is burning down. My lone road is coming to a close. I am beginning to see the dawn. A star rising as I set my outlying nature down.

I am ready to resume where I had left off.
Here’s to Buckminster for the inspiration.
I was not silent two years, but I might as well have been.

Leave a Reply

