Scavenger bird, black and white
Monochrome thief of the stuff we chuck
I ride past these murders everyday
flocking, cawing, flying by my head
One is sick – one just hanging on a wire.
One is ash grey and one is striped
Bright white flash under black wings
I’d never believed you if you’d told me.

One is digging in a McDonald’s bag
Shit I used to pay to eat.
Waste I used to contribute to
Now its birds just picking up bad crumbs
laced with experiments in murder
slow and steady for a dollar

A black beak tears the paper back
Does it know that causes cancer
death
slow murder
Like it could ever read the label.

NO. it cries and hops aside when I go by
It doesn’t comprehend.
I’m just trying to stop the cycle.

Leave a Reply

